Mississippi HD #29 Special Election – Results

There was a special election on Tuesday in Mississippi’s State House District #29 in the Mississippi Delta region.  The seat became vacant when Linda Coleman (D), who had served as the State Representative in the area for 25 years, was appointed to a Circuit Court judgeship earlier in 2016.

Mississippi HD 29 Special Election Results June 7 2016

Businessman Abe Hudson, Jr. was the clear winner of the six-candidate field, nearly doubling the vote total of the second-place finisher, Earl Lucas.  However, Mr. Hudson was just shy of the amount needed to avoid a runoff.  Since Mississippi just held its state legislative elections last year, this special is to fill the remaining three years of Ms. Coleman’s term.  Although special elections are non-partisan in Mississippi, both candidates are Democrats.  The runoff election will take place on June 28th.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *